Imus say something….

 

At lunch a friend asked me, “What do you think about the Don Imus thing?” I have to admit I’ve given it some thought. (It took a lot to divert my attention from finding out who fathered Anna Nicole’s baby.) I told him, “I think he should have been fired a long time ago, but he’s right about one thing: we need to get consistent. We have a lot of double standards.”

Later on I looked at the Wikipedia site on Imus. He has a history of denigrating remarks about nearly every group…an equal opportunity offender. Apparently this despicable behavior propelled him to the heights he fell from. Lo, how the mighty have fallen!

I’ve seen a few clips featuring Don from the time he had dark hair (he’s a year older than me) and he never seems to be smiling. He looks angry and miserable at the same time. He’s been called a curmudgeon and I must say he looks the part.

He and his wife have accomplished some things to smile about. They’ve done a lot of good things with their largesse…helpful things…compassionate things. It ought to make Don a lot happier than he appears.

The sad truth of the matter is that he and the other “shock jocks” are simply a reflection of our culture. My theory is that he listened to one too many rap “songs.”

I have to admit, I am not an admirer of the genre. But the words Imus used are part of this “art” form. He might have reasoned…they said it so why can’t I? That’s a good question. I grew up in the oilfields of West Texas and the Gulf of Mexico and I’m hearing language once confined to those realms issuing from the booth behind me in the Dairy Queen.

I suspect that the furor raised in the wake of his comments have more to do with the color of his skin than the content of his character. We’ve been putting up with the characters of some mighty dirty comedians for a long time. Jews can make jokes about Jews and Hispanics about Hispanics but if you are just a dirty-mouthed Caucasian, you’d better watch your tongue.

How times have changed! Early in Don’s career he was fired for saying “Hell” on the air. Wow…we’ve come a long way baby…and I’m afraid it’s been mostly downhill.

2 Comments

Filed under Culture Wars

2 responses to “Imus say something….

  1. Way to go, Dwight! The blog is looking good.

    On the Imus issue, the thing that strikes me is that he doesn’t care about anyone else but himself. Otherwise, he would be concerned about the impact his life (and words) has on others, no matter who s/he is.

    What a contrast to Jesus who sat down with people, looked them in the eye, treated them with respect, and made them feel whole. Imus could learn some things from Him.

  2. Tim

    Living in Mexico, I haven’t had to hear too much about it. But what I did hear was actually funny. I caught Whoopi Goldberge on CNN saying, in all seriousness, “It’s not like he’s a rap artist or something.” Because we all know, that would make it ok.

Leave a Reply

