Fundraising Forever

food_fundraising_main.jpg    Fundraising is the bane and blessing of missionaries and ministries.  It is something missionaries and those who recruit and train them must do constantly.  That’s what I’m doing today…getting out letters, brochures and reports as fast as I can but also being as personal as I can.  So far I have resisted machine-addressing the envelopes.  Hopefully, someday, we will have so many donors that it can’t be done by hand.

Fundraising is a blessing because you are rallying those who believe in you and what you are trying to do for the Lord!  The work of missions is impossible without someone to go and someone to send.  The one is a blessing to the other.

Fundraising can be a bane because those dollars are hard won!  There’s more than enough to go around but convincing your donors of the worthiness of your cause is a challenge.  Fundraising takes a lot of time and energy…one is tempted to think that energy is better invested pursuing the ministry task.  The fundraiser must remember that without partners the task is impossible.

As we approach presidential elections, it is amazing how much the candidates are able to quickly raise for political causes and how difficult it is to raise funds for spiritual causes.  I think it ought to be the other way around!

Be sure and have a look at our Mission South Pacific website: http://www.missionsouthpacific.wordpress.com.  You like the logo?  My son the artist designed it.

2 Comments

Filed under Jesus Christ, Kingdom Growth, Missions/Evangelism, Politics, Preaching/Teaching, South Pacific, Whitsett News

2 responses to “Fundraising Forever

  1. Dwight,
    I posted already on your other blog that I have been blessed by your blog. I look forward to reading more of your blog in the future and have added you to my favorites. I totally understand fundraising now that my oldest son who’s 6 is having to sell popcorn. Man. Crazy. Also had to do it when I was a youth minister. I am glad to be preaching now and done with fund raising for churches. 🙂 Great post! I hope you have a great week. Again, love for you check out my blog anytime, leave a comment or just read. Thanks again for your post on the other blog I really enjoyed it.

  2. Dwight – I love your heart for missions and I love your encouragement to missionaries. I love stopping my missionaries blogs and see where you’ve left comments to encourage. You are THE man.

    I like your blog too…

Leave a Reply

