The Tucson Memorial: Some Thoughts

Here are a few thoughts on the memorial held this evening for the victims of the shootings in Tucson.

1.       Wasn’t that “Native American Blessing” weird?  The bloke who gave it was not even a Native American…he was descended from the Yaquis of Mexico!  If he wasn’t a professor at the University, he probably wouldn’t have been on the program.

2.       I thought President Obama gave the finest speech I have heard from him so far (and he does love to give speeches).  It was exactly what we needed to hear.  It was thoughtful, sympathetic, conciliatory, uniting and comforting.

3.       It was uplifting to hear Scripture read by the Attorney General and the Secretary for Homeland Security.  They read with courage and conviction at a time when our nation drifts toward secularism.  Even the President, who is not known for his personal exercise of faith, referred at least twice to Scripture.

4.       How about that Daniel Hernandez?  Without notes or any sign of stage fright this articulate young man made some very thoughtful comments and renounced the title of Hero…handing that appellation to others he felt deserved it more.  I was impressed!

5.       I was surprised at the tone of the memorial.  It seemed more like a pep rally but, as one commentator suggested, maybe this is what was needed.  Nevertheless, I was angered by those who kept screaming even after the rest of the audience had become quiet.  What makes them think we are as much in love with their voice as they obviously are?

6.       I hope this brings to an end the incredibly stupid finger-pointing and mud-slinging employed by political opportunists.  I must say, however, that I am not holding my breath.

7.       I was moved by the brief sketches of those who were killed given by the President.  It was a personal touch that gave us all a little insight into the always extraordinary lives of ordinary people.

8.       The sketch of one precious little girl, Christina Taylor Green who would remind her mother, “We are so blessed. We have the best life,” brought me to tears.

As Mr. Obama said, may we work toward “…forging a country that is forever worthy of her gentle, happy spirit.”

My Blogs:
Whitticisms
: dwhitsett.wordpress.com

In the Charamon Garden: charamongarden.wordpress.com
Whitsett Woodcarving: whitcarv.wordpress.com
Mission South Pacific: missionsouthpacific.wordpress.com

1 Comment

Filed under Blessings, Community, Current Events, Faith, Good & Evil, Life, Love, Prayer, Religion, Scripture, Theism, Unity

One response to “The Tucson Memorial: Some Thoughts

  1. And I’ll reply with some of mine, addressing yours:

    1. Spoken like someone who believes their religion is the only true religion, when in fact there are tens of thousands of them in the world. And why don’t you feel a Yaqui is a Native American? America is not just the United States. The Yaquis are originally from the Mexican State of Sonora, which used to include the southern portion of Arizona. Last I looked, Mexico was in America. Central America, but still America, and the Yaquis are natives. I thought the gesture to inclusiveness, as opposed to exclusion, was what this country needs at a time like this. So, I disagree with you there.

    2. Can’t disagree with you here. But the man is a good speaker. I’ve seen him give some clunkers, and we can’t all be perfect all the time, but he did rise to the occasion.

    3. As you might expect, that didn’t impress me in the least. But given the statistical likelihood that most of the people out there in the audience were Christians, pandering to their sensibilities in this time of loss was probably OK. Me, I took the opportunity to get up and get a snack. 😉

    4. My exact reaction. That guy has a future ahead of him, but then, he probably didn’t get to be an intern for a US Congressperson because he was dumb and inarticulate. See? We can agree on some things!

    5. That didn’t bother me. It was held in a stadium at a major University. What would you expect? I’ll bet most of the people in the audience were college students.

    6. Nor am I. It won’t happen until Glenn Beck’s show is canceled, Rush Limbaugh loses his big, fat voice, and Sarah Palin fades to obscurity, as she will hopefully be doing soon. Though I expect there will be others to take their places. Stupidity knows no bounds.

    7. Well, it WAS a memorial service. I too wanted to know a little more about the victims, especially the ones the media have basically ignored. The old guy that jumped on his wife to shield her is more of a hero than the guy who ran out of Walgreens after it happened ready to use his concealed weapon.

    8. Damn! I think I dozed off near the end and missed that part. I hate it when children are involved in grownup nonsense like this. I think it’s the parent in me. But life must go on.

    I do hope we change our attitudes about each other in the country. This polarization and demonization for purely political purposes is not healthy to the social fabric of this country. We have to get back to being neighbors, friends and co-workers, rather than Democrats and Republicans and Tea Partiers and Libertarians.

    5.

Leave a Reply

