Who Wood Do This?

The Scene of the Crime

This genuine, un-retouched, un-photo-shopped photo tells the sordid truth: someone dumped their junk wood in front of my shop.  And, it’s not even good wood.  Most of it would not even be good firewood (which just burns me up)!  You would think that whoever went to the trouble to gather up this stuff and dump it on me could have just dumped it in the alley for the city to pick up instead.  Now, I have to lug it out to the alley myself.

No one has come forward to take responsibility for this heinous crime.  At first, I thought it might have been someone with good intentions.  Since I am a woodcarver (you can see my work at http://whitcarv.wordpress.com), I thought someone was making an anonymous donation of raw materials. Upon closer examination, however, it became apparent this was not the case.  Some I can burn but most will end up in the alley of broken wood.  I may be barking up the wrong tree, but no use pining, it goes against my grain.

I have a usual suspect in mind but, of course, can’t prove it.  Anyway, several previous confrontations have not kept him off my property and I doubt another would be any more effective.  For years I have wanted to fence in the area around my shop and garden.  A nice, chain-link fence might not stop trespassers but it would certainly make it more difficult.  The area, however, is large and my finances are small.  Still, I can dream can’t I?

5 Comments

Filed under Carving, Good & Evil, Humor, Rubbish, Whitsett News, Woodcarving, wordplay

5 responses to “Who Wood Do This?

  1. Brian

    Dwight, maybe you shouldn’t take a-fence; isn’t that how you wood want to be treated?

  2. Bobbie

    Good whitt!

  3. Pingback: From Waterbed to Website | Whitticisms

  4. Pingback: From Waterbed to Website | West Texas Gardener

  5. Pingback: From Waterbed to Website « Whitsett Woodcarving

Leave a Reply

