New Blog on Gardening

For all those who love the soil and growing your own food…especially using organic practices, I want to announce my new blog, In the Charamon Garden. You can find it on the blogroll or here.  I hope you like it.

It is an account of the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat (or thefeet) as I try to keep my family well stocked with seasonal vegetables in the tough conditions of the semi-arid part of Texas. Rainfall is uncertain, soil is alkaline, weather conditions uncertain, and time to garden is scarce. But, I like the challenge and when things go right the produce beats anything you will find in your local grocery store. The picture at the top is what you can get when things go well.

I like to read about gardening and am presently listening to an audiobook (on my way back and forth to Lubbock and elsewhere) to Animal, Vegatable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life, by Barbara Kingsolver, with Steven L. Hopp and Camille Kingsolver. I’m about half way through and it is a very good read if you can stand the odd narration. They also have a website that you might find interesting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogroll, Vegetable Gardening, Whitsett News

Leave a comment