Looking for Myself

puzzled.gif

I have gone out to look for myself.

If I should return before I get back

Please hold me until I get here.

            “I just don’t know who I am anymore.”  “I need some time to find myself.”  Such statements reflect the confusion that overtakes us as we speed along in the fast lane.  In our hurried and harried way of life, we lose touch with ourselves quickly and easily.  Lured by the siren song of Satan, we seem snared in a destructive cycle of commuting, working, watching television…filling all our waking moments with amusements and distractions.  We don’t allow time to meditate, contemplate, pray or just think any more. 

Such “unproductive time” is deemed laziness; a waste.  Reading the Bible and pondering what we read is practically unheard of.  This is such a shame because even though we may be looking in many places, we’ll find ourselves in the Word!

            Here we learn the truth!  We are strangers and aliens here.  Our real home is heaven.  Our purpose is not building earthly empires for time, but God’s kingdom for eternity.  Who are we?  What are we supposed to do?  We are living stones making up a spiritual house for a holy priesthood (1 Pet. 2:5)  We are salt and light (Matthew 5:13-16).  We are God’s fellow-workers, his field, his building, his temple (1 Cor. 3:9,16)…his possession (Exo. 19:5,6; 1 Pet. 2:9,10).

            No wonder we’re confused!.  The world tells us, “Be number one.”  “Be successful.”  “Achieve, accumulate and consume.”  “Go! go! go!”  “Don’t be lazy…claw your way to the ‘top.'”  “Money is life’s report card.”  “Life is a game and the winner is the one who dies with the most toys.”  The Spirit calls us to a life dark and daylight different from the world’s.  “Live a tranquil and quiet life of love and service.”  “Lay up treasure in heaven.”  “Be the greatest by becoming the least.”  “Do good works.”  “Life is a race and everyone who crosses the finish line wins.”

            Bewildered?  Lost touch with who you are?  Yonder is the one who created you.  He beckons you to follow him.  Come to him.  Let him renew your mind, give you peace and lead you home.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Looking for Myself

  1. I seem to have the opposite problem. My life is securely positioned in the SLOW lane … thank heavens. Lots of time spent in coffee shops, drinking tea, and playing scrabble … in successful avoidance of Math homework, “real” work, or anything that might resemble productivity.

    I get things done, but I take plenty of time to do it.

  2. dwhitsett

    Good for you Saij! Both the tea and the Scrabble sound good. It took me a while, but I discovered that it is OK just to sit, drink a little tea or coffee and just let your mind idle a while. I go to my Retreat in my garden at Charamon first thing in the morning. I do some praying but mostly just listen to the birds and appreciate the flavor of my cuppa with a thankful attitude.

Leave a comment